News | Events | Store | Retailers | Clubs | WNZ | Features | Equipment | Tricks & Instructionals | Gallery | Games | Forums 

Josh Sanders wins Planet X wakeboarding event on Gold Coast
Monday 21 February 2005

Josh Sanders is back to his best – winning the PLANET X WAKE SLAM JAM – the fifth round of the Australian Pro Tour of Wakeboarding at Moya Park on The Gold Coast.

In front of a partying Gold Coast crowd of over 5000 people, the Tour leaders battled it out in ideal conditions. Blue skies and flat water provided a stunning backdrop to a crew of the world’s best wakeboarders chasing Pro Tour points and the Planet X medals.

Josh Sanders performed a near flawless final run which included some amazing tricks - a 3-thirteen, a slim chance, a 540 and a tootsie roll. Josh has recently returned from a chronic foot injury and is finally getting back to his best form.

Crowd favourite and local Gold coast wakeboarder, Daniel Watkins; 2005 Tour leader and 2004 Champion, fell short in the final to finish 4th. Daniel still holds the Tour lead, 45 points ahead of Jeff Weatherall with one round to go.

Scotty Broome from Sydney finally stepped up to record his first podium on the pro tour. His run was a feature of the day with many highly technical tricks. Seasoned campaigner Brett Eisenhauer pulled off his first podium of the year.

The final stop of the Australian Pro Tour moves on to the Australian Open at Nowra on Saturday February 26 on the Shoalhaven River. As local boys Daniel Watkins and Jeff Weatherall are currently dominating the Pro Tour standings, one of our Gold Coast boys may walk away with the 2005 Aussie Pro Tour title.


Josh Sanders
Brett Eisenhauer
Scott Broome
Daniel Watkins
Jeff Weatherall
Dwayne Priestley
Travis Osbourne
Rusty Malinoski
Jesson Vedel
Chris O'Shea
Troy Mackey
Aaron Bullock
Matt Crowhurst
John Pervan
John Henson
Dean Smith

Top 10 APTW season standings after the 5 events:

Place Athlete Total
1 Daniel Watkins 345
2 Jeff Weatherall (NZ) 290
3 Josh Sanders
4 Brett Eisenhauer
5 Dean Smith
6 Rusty Malinoski (CA)
7 Chris O'Shea
8 Troy Mackey
9 Scott Broome
10 Greg Falzon