News | Events | Store | Retailers | Clubs | WNZ | Features | Equipment | Tricks & Instructionals | Gallery | Games | Forums 

Watkins equals the score with Jeff Weatherall to win the second round of the Australian Pro Tour of Wakeboarding!
Sunday 16 January 2005

Defending Australian Pro Tour Champion Daniel Watkins today won his first event of the 05 season at the Glascraft WakeAdelaide. In front of a 4,000 strong crowd and facing a 25 knot southerly wind on the Patawalonga Lake, Glenelg, Watkins proved why he is the most dominate force in the world of competition wakeboarding. His run that included a 720, slim chance, skeeza and tootsie roll was too good for last weekend’s winner Jeff Weatherall (2nd) and defending Wake Adelaide champion Dean Smith (3rd).

"This is shaping up to be the most competitive APTW season ever". Watkins explained at the top of the podium. "Being beaten by Jeff last weekend by one position and now turning the tide on him this weekend, I am really excited about the way the next four events are going to play out".

Many of the up and coming South Australian’s had the opportunity to shine this weekend with Tom Hines pouncing on the chance to make his first APTW final along with regular Southern Aussie contender Luke Matson also making a finals birth.

Victorian young gun Troy Mackey blitzed in the semis to make the finals in fourth position but much of the semis attention was surrounded by the only female rider on the Aussie Tour, Amber Wing who beat a field of 19-pre qualifiers to make semi finals.

The third stop of the Australian Pro Tour moves on to Melbourne’s Ride and Slide at Caribbean Gardens where Jeff Weatherall will enter as the defending event champion.

Results from Glascraft Wake Adelaide:
1st Daniel Watkins 66.7
2nd Jeff Weatherall 64.4
3rd Dean Smith 62.8
4th Brett Eisenhauer 60.7
5th Troy Mackey 52.8
6th Luke Matson 50.8
7thTom Hines 48.6
8th Scott Broome 45.1

APTW season standing after 2 events:

1 Jeff Weatherall 180
1 Daniel Watkins 180
3 Dean Smith 110
4 Brett Eisenhauer 85
5 Chris O'Shea 77
6 Troy Mackey 64
7 Greg Falzon 55
8 Michael Hancock 44
9 Tom Hines 42
10 Dwayne Priestley 35
10 Luke Matson 35

Dates of the upcoming APTW events are as follows:
6 February – J Star Ride & Slide, Melbourne VIC
13 February – Ride & Slide Stoney Park, Port Macquarie NSW
20 February – Planet X Wake Slam Jam, Gold Coast QLD
26 February – Australian Open of Wakeboarding, Nowra NSW